KV Mechelen
KV Mechelen
Top (left to right): Dries Arfaoui, Yorrit Hansen, Tibo Jacobs, Michiel Horman, Esteban Achak, Noé Rottiers
Bottom (left to right): Ilyas El Gharbi, Elton Yeboah, Evangelos Soferis, Junhui Lu, Kasper De Groote
Missing: Jannes Van Hof, Oskar Annell, Bilal Bafdili, Lukas Baert, Stan Vercauteren, Noah Makanza, Halil Özdemir, Frederic Soelle Soelle

KV Mechelen was founded in 1904 and became national champion four times and won the cup, the European Cup II and the European Supercup once.

From 2007, KV Mechelen played in the First Division, but it was relegated in 2018 to return to the highest league after one season. In addition to this quick return, KVM managed to reach the Belgian cup final.

The youth academy is extremely important for KV Mechelen and that is clearly visible within the club. In the first team, for example, eight players from their own academy play, of which Alec Van Hoorenbeeck, Bas Van Den Eynden and Jordi Vanlerberghe were active at the KST. The latter also applies to the great talent Aster Vranckx, who has been playing for VfL Wolfsburg in the Bundesliga since this season and plays for the U21 of Belgium.
Some names of players developed by KVM: Steven Defour (ex-Burnley FC, ex-Porto FC, winner Golden Shoe in 2008, 52-time Red Devil), Tom Caluwé (ex-Willem II, ex-FC Utrecht and the current sporting director), Ignace Van der Brempt (recently from Club Brugge to RB Salzburg) and Jules Van Cleemput, now SC Charleroi but before that at KVM.

The team of KV Mechelen plays in the Elite U18, the highest division in Belgium, and is in the middle of the table.
KV Mechelen participates with three youth internationals. Halil Özdemir plays for Turkey U17 and Frederic Soelle Soelle and Jannes Van Hof regularly play for Belgium U17.

KV Mechelen participates in the KST for the seventh time. The best result was achieved in 2015 when the tournament was won by beating KAA Gent in the final.

proud of our sponsors:

Copyright © Karel Stegeman Toernooi Ruurlo | Login Design en realisatie door Project Arthouse